“Once more unto the breach, dear friends”

Back to Uni, back to the writing grindstone. I have quite the year of work ahead,but looking at what’s in store, I can’t wait to get started!

Having received feedback for my Major Project Treatment Betwixt & Between, I have lots to do in terms of developing and refining my idea before starting the script, mostly involving the streamlining and simplifying of the narrative, making many character histories and motivations clearer, and hardest of all, axing one of my characters completely. It’s gonna be tough, but ruthlessness is key, after all, I’m not just writing for self-indulgence.

I’ll also be starting work on my Adaptation Treatment, hoping to adapt a video game into a film. I know what you’re thinking, it’s gonna be a shambles, and based on the history of video game adaptations, I’d tend to agree. But that in itself is one of my greatest motives for choosing this medium – to break the mold, conquer the stereotype, and alter audiences perceptions; that video games can tell brilliant stories, that they are a magnificent art form in their own right, and that they are indeed compatible with cinema. I originally thought about adapting the classic cult game franchise Legacy of Kain,  particularly focusing on the Soul Reaver games and following the character of Raziel in a tragic tale of vampires, revenge and destiny, but considering the vast scale and complexity of the narrative, I don’t think it would be entirely suitable. Perhaps in future, but no for the assignment.
I also thought about the video game Dark Souls, which many players, me included, thought the game barely possessed a story at all upon first glance. However, from reading between the lines, paying closer attention to detail, and hearing the theories in online forums, I soon discovered the game is rich with a glorious lore, an incredible tragedy told implicitly, and to me represents one of the best told stories in any video game. However, it’s the very implicitness and polysemic mode that make the story so great, and I’m not entirely sure implicit storytelling is entirely suited to the cinematic experience. Maybe it’ll make for some interesting experiments in future, but for Uni, probably better to play it safe and only break the rules I know well.
While I’m still not entirely confirmed, the idea I’m becoming increasingly set on pursuing is a big one indeed, possibly the biggest – Final Fantasy VII. Yep. Love it or hate it, FFVII was THE game that pushed gaming itself into the mainstream, it made audiences eyes pop, jaws drop, and think ‘Hmm, maybe video games can tell great stories after all’. As an homage to one of the greatest and most important games ever made, as a tribute to one of my favourites, and in the hopes of retelling this truly amazing, life-changing story, I plan on adapting it to the screen. It will no doubt require some brutal cutting down, streamlining and simplifying (it’s becoming a theme I think), but I’m so in love with this story, as I was when I first played it, I can’t bring myself not to try.

Finally, I have a short script to work on, which I intend to make my first independent theatre script. I’ve done film to death, I’m having a go at TV, it seems only right to give theatre its fair chance, perhaps radio too. I honestly have too many ideas right now to pin down one, but I hope to make this my attempt at experimenting, from trying out a new medium, to a new genre, to a new writing style. Who knows, maybe I’ll discover a new passion, and be reborn as a writer. Or it could be an utter catastrophe of biblical proportions and I’ll quit writing forever out of shame. Nah, that’ll never happen …. right?

Leave a comment